Arkansas is one of the few states where you don’t need a license or any formal training to be a security guard. However, the state does ask employers to issue rather in-depth employment applications to candidates. That’s because there are still some basic requirements for security guards.
First, you must be at least 18 years old, and you need to either have your high school diploma or your G.E.D. You can’t be a guard if you’ve been diagnosed with any mental illnesses, have been convicted of a felony or other crime, or can’t pass a drug screening test. You’ll be asked to submit to a background check that will make sure that you meet all of these requirements, which includes providing information on former employers for the past ten years.
Armed guards must be at least 21 years old.
Armed guards still have to provide proof that they’ve completed required training programs. Your employer will usually direct you to the proper training classes. Other training is usually required and provided for by your employer. This is because Arkansas requires employers to provide this training.
Your employer will usually train you to deal with medical and fire emergencies. You may also be trained in how to apprehend and hold a suspect, how to act professionally, and how to communicate effectively. When you are going to be an armed guard you’ll certainly get training on the legal use of force.
Still, getting a job offer is your first step in Arkansas. Why not take a look at our job board now?